side menu icon

Board of Directors

Ed Rastrelli

Ed Rastrelli
Board Chair

Ed joined Johnson & Johnson Vision Care in May 1986 as an Associate Polymer Scientist to help develop the original ACUVUE product and process in addition to starting work on expanding the product offering by working on new optical designs and new materials. Over the next 11 years, he progressed through various levels of responsibility and management in the R&D organization all the while focusing on new product development.

In 1997, Ed moved into the Marketing arena at Vistakon as the product director of New Products for the purpose of launching the newly approved Acuvue Bifocal globally. He then managed the product in the US region as the Product Director, Acuvue Bifocal for a year before transitioning back to the Product Director of New Products and Technology for the US region. In this role, he focused on introducing new products, such as Acuvue 2 Colours, and new technology, such as the first comprehensive consumer and professional web page and digital media program for the Acuvue brand.

Ed transitioned into a business development role in 2003 for JJVCI. Ed worked on helping JJVCI develop a strategy for moving from vision correction to vision care by helping identify technologies and segments beyond contact lenses that made strategic sense for the franchise to meet its growth objectives and redefined corporate vision. He worked on projects for ophthalmic pharmaceuticals, ophthalmic drug delivery, and contact lens care while also supporting the base contact lens business with projects in new optical designs and lens materials.

Ed received his bachelor's degree in materials science and engineering from the University of Florida in 1986, and his MBA from the University of North Florida in 1990.

Ed lives in Atlantic Beach, just outside of Jacksonville, with his wife Brenna, their 13-year-old daughter Bella, and their yellow Lab Cello. Ed is a golfer and classic car enthusiast who generally loves to do anything outdoors.



Mary Anne Jacobs
Chief Executive Officer
Prior to joining the Girl Scouts of Gateway Council as CEO, Mary Anne Jacobs served as the senior director of government relations for Time Warner Cable. During her career in the telecommunications industry, Jacobs was nationally recognized with numerous awards including the industry’s prestigious Beacon Award for Excellence, the National Vision Award, and the Women’s Press Association Award. She was also recognized by the Boys and Girls Clubs of America with the National Medallion Award.
An advocate for children’s issues, Mary Anne was appointed to the South Carolina Governor’s Advisory Council of the Children’s Trust of South Carolina. She held board seats with Parents Against Child Abuse and Parents Anonymous, and was a spokesperson for a children’s campaign with the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control. Jacobs was also a member of the board for Youth Corps, and South Carolina Area Council Boys and Girls Clubs; and board chair of the Boys and Girls Clubs of the Midlands. In addition, she served as president of the Southeastern Institute for Women in Politics and as an executive member of the Board of Directors for the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce. She is a graduate of the distinguished Riley Institute Diversity Leadership Initiative at Furman University.
Once transitioning to the Girl Scouts of Gateway Council, Mary Anne accepted a leadership role with the First Coast Girls Initiative. She is a member of the Jacksonville Chamber of Commerce Board of Trustees and is a member of the Leadership Jacksonville class of 2015. Jacobs held a position on the Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women. She resides in Jacksonville with her husband Jeff.


Board of Directors

Ed Rastrelli

Cecil F. Gibson III
Past Chair

April Harrell-Devine
Board Development Chair

Salmaan Wahidi

Mary Anne Jacobs
Chief Executive Officer

Stacey Foster
Fund Development Chair

John Andrews
Kacy Ealy
Rachel Eastveld
Alexandria Hill
Nicki Howard
Desiree Janisse
Ann Johnson
Sandy McArthur
John (David) Pisano
Tania Schmidt-Alpers
Lauren Todd
Christy Dickinson Waldenmaier

Kaitlyn Ludlam
Girl Member

Maryssa Woerman
Girl Member

Interested in joining our board?

 Download an application (PDF)